Making 2009 Lessons 2010 Realizations…

The last time I attempted doing my usual drafts before I revise them for posting on this blog, I had clear intent of analysing my past year 2009 and enumerating my projections and resolutions for year 2010. Well, that didn’t quite happen, there was a lot at stake, I was upcountry and chicken was coming in my direction in portions that only remind me of the days when I managed to take home position one of my class or the days when I arrived home with a great achievement as my dad likes to put it either as Mr. university or having gone through an election vying for the students council leadership…

Anyway, the chicken just had to derail my line of thought. I mean, where else would you be served a whole chicken for five consecutive meals… one chicken for each of the guests? Seriously, home rocks… as long as you disappear for most of the year and arrive over December holidays with stories for the village people to ride on imagination with and enough blankets and ‘vitenges’ for the Old lady and aunties… You could even be allowed to physically mark the chickens with regards to which one you wanted to have on which day… ha haaa… no kidding, I mean… like, I want the featherless one on Sunday morning, the black one on Sunday evening and you can preserve the graded one for the day I disappear back to the city…

What was this post supposed to be about again? I am lost… Well, my 2009 was perhaps the most challenging of years I have had in my independent adulthood. With part of 2008, I allowed myself to be whoever I wanted to be, wherever I wanted to be and go largely with very few breaks. I had absolute fun, I learnt a lot in life, most of which my dad tells me many people learn in their mid thirties… What I am I trying to say, basically I learnt almost every aspect of life and the experiences I went through will definitely serve me in the immediate, foreseeable and definitely the far future. One wise man, Donald Trump puts it simply;

“Experience taught me a few things. One is to listen to your gut, no matter how good something sounds on paper. The second is that you’re generally better off sticking with what you know. And the third is that sometimes your best investments are the ones you don’t make”

Donal Trump

Another great lesson I have learnt courtesy of my past few years is;

The More Things Change, The More They Seem The Same…”

Most of us hold off certain engagements hoping and waiting for perfect scenarios to arise to ensure our comfort when making certain commitments. Over the past few years I have learnt that this hardly comes by, we end up building castles and having blind or false hope on situations that may not materialize with the resources, intents and imagination at our disposal. It is always better in the long run to step in the unknown and jump or bridge hurdles while on the other side that many people fear and have no experience with. At the end of the day, we become better men through our abilities to conquer the feared.

Through 2009 largely, I observed people around me and largely myself as we waited for something to come by and waiting for fortune to pop in our direction. We are dependent heavily on luck and with this we have trained our minds to always have hope that never matures to action. I learnt with these experiences and as another wise man says;

“Success doesn’t come to you, you go for it…”

The path to success is one tough one. We have challenges; we on more than often occasions step on people’s toes, rub people’s egos in the wrong way and in the process make a few imaginary and sometimes actual enemies in our way. The path to success just like the path to heaven is a narrow one, there are no Limousines to get us across, and we have to hustle our way through. It is important to learn asJoseph Joubert says;

“When you go in search of honey you must expect to be stung by bees….”

So, what’s new to say, much of remarks I might want to assure and reassure myself and anyone reading have been emphasized through our lives, action is always the challenging. This year I am going to get my aggressiveness and appetite for growth and development to a whole new level… in a Nutshell… For all I know is in 2010…

The Hustle is on!!! Have a Realistic 2010.

Leave a Reply

