Passion, it drives…

I’ve been extremely busy this week; my official back to work week since This. I’ve been running from one end to another fighting a fire here and saving a sinking boat there. It feels good to be absolutely busy and passionate about things I love and believe in, things I am better defined by. Suddenly it feels like my 2011 is finally off the runway. Here’s hoping I will be a better pilot than what I was the last year. I am also trusting that I have a well oiled machine and well prepared to take a safe landing if turbulence God forbid comes my way.

Sanaa Lathan

Last weekend, I watched a somewhat interesting movie, ‘Something New‘ featuring a love story based on racial challenges and such. I didn’t know what to expect of the movie, I have a habit picking movies based on the cast so I knew chances were high I’d sit through something with Sanaa Lathan (She is innocently hot!), Blair Underwood and Simon Baker. While the story was somewhat convincing and interesting enough to sit through, I was struck by something else; Passion. In the movie, Brian Kelly played by Simon Baker is a landscape architect, a damn good one going by what he does at Kenya McQueen’s (Sanaa Lathan) gardens, the actual gardens perv. Brian details how he started off as an advertising and branding executive in the corporate world with suits and ties and how he slowly found himself spending more time attending to gardens and plants, something his father did. He eventually ditched the suits and ties and became a full-time landscape architect. Something he loved and enjoyed, Passion.

As Wikipedia puts it, Passion is a term applied to a very strong feeling about a person or thing. Passion is an intense emotion compelling feeling, enthusiasm, or desire for something. This got me thinking of what I am truly passionate about. If I had a choice in this world today to pick one thing that I’d do, lovingly and proudly so everything else constant, what would I do? Every so often I watch interviews of people who supposedly love what they do and who they are and truthfully they believe nothing else could possibly have been better. Let’s look at some of them:

Barack Obama

Is there anything I can say about the most probably coolest person to ever live? I will pick this extract; ‘He went on to attend law school, where he became the first African American President of the Harvard Law Review. Upon graduation, he returned to Chicago to help lead a voter registration drive, teach constitutional law at the University of Chicago, and remain active in his community.’ Just what did he overlook? He had everything he needed to end up at the top of any corporate institution in America, to have ‘the job’ and a ‘life’. Passion drove him to go back to the community, a rather uncertain route but because of what he believed and trusted could be realized, he is the most powerful man in the world today.

Pete Moorey

If you care about injustice, human rights violations, inequality or poverty, your contribution needn’t end at signing petitions, writing letters or joining in student demonstrations. It may sound cynical, but, with a big, bad world out there to improve and change, a career in campaigning will almost certainly provide you with a job for life.

Pete Moorey began his career as a student campaigner, campaigning against the introduction of tuition fees. Now parliamentary and campaigns officer for the National Council for Voluntary Organizations (NCVO), he helps charities to assert their influence in Westminster. After a year as sabbatical officer for the Leeds University Union, Pete worked for David Stewart, the Labor MP for Inverness (who just lost his seat), and for the Electoral Reform Commission. He says he was always politically motivated. ‘I joined a political party while I was at school, studied history and politics and always thought about working in politics.

John Grisham

I am seriously fascinated by his story in three ways, his passion for law, his ability to follow legislature through politics and eventually writing in such a way that I only skipped studying law at University because of Sibling rivalry and teenage rebellion. He can be found Here. Grisham practiced law for about a decade and also won election as a Democrat in the Mississippi state legislature from 1983 to 1990 at an annual salary of US$8,000. By his second term at the Mississippi state legislature, he was not only the vice-chairman of the Apportionment and Elections Committee but also a member of several other committees.

Grisham’s writing career blossomed with the success of his second book, The Firm, and he gave up practicing law, except for returning briefly in 1996 to fight for the family of a railroad worker who was killed on the job. His official site states that “He was honoring a commitment made before he had retired from the law to become a full-time writer. Grisham successfully argued his clients’ case, earning them a jury award of US$683,500 – the biggest verdict of his career.

Oliver Mtukudzi

Gifted with a deep and gusty voice plus a talent for writing songs that reflect on the daily life and struggles of the people, Mtukudzi began performing in 1977 when he joined the Wagon Wheels. I am a huger lover of African Music and to me he is at the very top. There are about 33 albums to his credit! Surely, passion is the sole reason one can belt out so much!

I do not understand what good Oliver sings, nothing! I do not speak anything close to his native languages but his music touches me in ways beyond normal. It is even overwhelming to know that his music touches on matters human rights, justice and the struggles people like you and I witness or go through.

I realize the list of people whose passion I admire is endless. I cannot possibly list them in one blog post. I also have realized over time that I am quite passionate about socioeconomics defined as the relation of economics to social values, a discipline studying the reciprocal relationship between economic science on the one hand and social philosophy, ethics, and human dignity on the other toward social reconstruction and improvement or also emphasizing multidisciplinary methods from such fields as sociology, history, and political science. I am at a point of choosing one path, end up as an economics scholar formulating ideologies and methodology to bring about balance, pursue a socio-political agenda with hopes of finding myself in position to realize such balance, or both. Someday, we will know.

In Other news, I have overly played ‘They Dance by The Villagers Band‘. Addictive and Easy!

That said, I read something @Lamzana‘s:

‘Blogs, just like land need periods where they are left fallow sometimes.’

Maybe, or maybe not. Till then, Cheers!

Leave a Reply

